Sound-Dust 2LP


159,00 lei
cu TVA * 2-4 zile
În stoc


Warp Records





Produsul nu mai este disponibil in aceasta cantitate. Poti adauga produsul in cos dupa ajustarea cantitatii.

Expanded edition of Stereolab's seventh album, produced by Jim O'Rourke and part of the Stereolab Reissue Series.

"While the two years between Dots and Loops and Cobra resulted in stagnation, the two years separating Cobra and Sound-Dust find Stereolab deliberately recharging their creative juices, delving deeper into avant-garde composition and '60s swing pop in equal measures. As the album opens with the minimal "Black Ants in Sound-Dust," it's evident that the group has restructured and pushed forward, even if it means that they're adhering to their time-honored tradition of expanding their trademark sound with new arrangements and influences. Frankly, after the stagnation of Cobra, any movement forward is welcome, and initially the record seems like a bold move forward -- a Stereolab instrumental album where the arrangements and production take the proper forefront, since every recording since Amorphous Body Center has illustrated that that's the group's real strength. Then, "Captain EasyChord" kicks in with a familiar, albeit catchy, mid-tempo lounge groove and Laetitia Sadier's singsong vocals, and the album is immediately anchored in overly familiar territory. And that's the biggest problem with Sound-Dust -- by this point the group's melodies, singalong choruses, and Marxist platitudes no longer sound fresh, they often sound like a straightjacket, preventing the group from pushing forward into new territory. After all, if it's taken on a pure sonic level, Sound-Dust can often be quite pleasing and intriguing, especially the sophisticated horn and flute arrangements, which producer Jim O'Rourke makes lushly alluring. It's hard not to wish that the entire record was constructed simply of instrumentals of this sort, since that's when Stereolab sounds fully recharged and gorgeous. As it stands, the album is held back by their insistence on simple songs and simple vocals that keep the record earthbound and solely the province of the already converted."


Produs Nou / Anul aparitiei: 2001 / Reissue 2019





A1 Black Ants In Sound Dust

A2 Space Moth

A3 Captain Easychord

B1 Baby Lulu

B2 The Black Arts

B3 Hallucinex

C1 Double Rocker

C2 Gus The Mynah Bird

C3 Naught More Terrific Than Man

D1 Nothing To Do With Me

D2 Suggestion Diabolique

D3 Les Bons Bons Des Raisons

E1 Black Ants Demo

E2 Spacemoth Intro Demo

E3 Spacemoth Demo

E4 Baby Lulu Demo

E5 Hallucinex Pt 1 Demo

E6 Hallucinex Pt 2 Demo

E7 Long Live Love Demo

E8 Les Bon Bons Des Raisons Demo