• Nou

The Universe Smiles Upon You LP


125,00 lei
cu TVA * 2-4 zile
În stoc


Night Time Stories






Produsul nu mai este disponibil in aceasta cantitate. Poti adauga produsul in cos dupa ajustarea cantitatii.

Taking influence from 1960's Thai funk - their name literally translates to "Engine Fly" in Thai - Khruangbin’s debut album ‘The Universe Smiles Upon You’ is steeped in the bass heavy, psychedelic sound of their inspiration, Tarantino soundtracks and surf-rock cool. The Texan trio is formed of Laura Lee on bass, Mark Speer on guitar, and Donald “DJ” Johnson on drums.

‘The Universe Smiles Upon You’ was recorded at their spiritual home, a remote barn deep in the Texas countryside where their first rehearsals took place. The band listened to a lot of different types of music on the long drives out to the country but their favourites were 60s and 70s Thai cassettes gleaned from the cult Monrakplengthai blog and compilations of southeast Asian pop, rock and funk. This had a heavy impact on the direction of the band, the scales they used and the inflection of the melodies; which coupled with the spaciousness of the Texan countryside culminated in Khruangbin forming their exotic, individual sound.


Produs Nou / Anul aparitiei: 2015





A1 Mr. White

A2 Two Fish And An Elephant

A3 Dern Kala

A4 Little Joe And Mary

A5 White Gloves

B1 People Everywhere (Still Alive)

B2 The Man Who Took My Sunglasses

B3 August Twelve

B4 Balls And Pins

B5 Zionsville

B6 Bin Bin X